RCMH Celebrates National Hospital Week

May 15, 2017

Rusk County Memorial Hospital (RCMH) celebrated National Hospital Week with an employee luncheon on May 10 to show appreciation for the contributions of these men and women who support the health and well-being of our communities.

“It is a wonderful week to celebrate the achievements of those who make possible the wonderful care we offer at RCMH,” Charisse Oland, RCMH Chief Executive Officer, shared with the large crowd of employees gathered for the luncheon. “We are very fortunate to have such highly skilled, talented, compassionate and dedicated professionals who enhance the quality of care we provide to our patients. Thank you for what you do each and every day to serve our patients, their families and our communities.”

Individuals were recognized for demonstrating the RCMH values of Integrity, Compassion, teAmwork, Respect and Excellence (ICARE). Throughout the year, hospital employees and patients had the opportunity to nominate staff for demonstrating one or more of the ICARE values. A committee made up of hospital employees voted on weekly and monthly ICARE Leaders who were recognized during the luncheon. The committee then selected the ICARE Leader of the Year and ICARE Rookie of the Year based on how they applied the values to serve patients, families and colleagues.

Michelle Thorson, Director of Patient Financial Services, was named this year’s ICARE Leader of the Year. Thorson was nominated for the many hours she dedicated to the implementation of the new Electronic Health Record, Epic. The nomination card stated, “Michelle has worked endlessly on the Epic project for months, most of it behind the scenes unnoticed. Hours and hours of meetings, day after day. She is not only involved in the Financial Services portion of Epic, but most, if not all, other departments as well. The success of Epic has been in large part to Michelle’s extra efforts. Thank you Michelle for you hard work!”

ICARE monthly leaders who have been at RCMH for one year or less are eligible for the ICARE Rookie of the Year. The 2017 ICARE Rookie of the Year is Annette Witkiewicz. Witkiewicz is a nurse in the Clinic at Riverside and was recognized for going above and beyond expectations. The nomination stated that Witkiewicz showed incredible compassion for a patient in need of medical supplies. The prescription did not immediately go through and the patient had no way to pick up the supplies. Knowing the patient’s medical needs, Annette kindly drove to the patient’s home after work to deliver the supplies.

In addition, Years of Service Awards were given to those who achieved 5, 10, 15, 25 and 30-year milestones of employment at RCMH. The following individuals received years of service awards: Courtney Meyer (5 years), Amy Streveler (5 years), Michelle Thorson (5 years), Sherry Bastian (10 years), Jean Gajewski (10 years), Roberta Copas (10 years), Kelly Schotzko (10 years), Chelsea Wimer (15 years), Denise East (15 years), Connie Haller (15 years), Julie Verdegan (15 years), Scott Turene (25 years), Shelley Barg (30 years) and Margaret Bennett (30 years).  

“It is my pleasure to honor the numerous individuals who have dedicated their careers to this healthcare system with so many years of service,” shared Oland. “We are very grateful for your hard work and loyalty. Our hospital wouldn’t be where we are today without your endless contributions.”

The luncheon concluded with acknowledgement and gratitude to the 120 employees who volunteered on behalf of RCMH at community activities and events in 2016.